Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Each KVK has a SAC  (earlier local management committee) which  consists of the following member.
1. Head of Host Institution : The Vice Chancellor, TNAU, Coimbatore ·  Chairperson
2. Director of Extension of concerned SAU ·  Member
3. ZC of the concerned Zone ·  Member
4. Representatives of ICAR institutes / ICAR ·  Member
5. Associate Director Research& extension of the Zonal Research station in which KVk is located ·  Member
6. District officers of the line departments such as Agrl, Hort, AH, Soil conservation, Social welfare small scale Industries. ·  Member
7. Representatives of the Local Bank of the district ·  Member
8. Farm radio officer of the AIR in which KVK is located ·  Member
9. Representatives Doordarshan Centre in which KVK is located ·  Member
10. Two representatives of the farmers one small & one big nominated by the Head of the Institution ·  Member
11. Two representatives of Farm women nominated by the Head of institution ·  Member
12. Programme coordinator ·  Member
  • This committee should meet twice in a year.  In absence of Head of Institution in the meeting, the members present in the meeting shall select a chairperson to conduct the meeting.  Minimum 50% participator of the members shall form quorum.  The committee shall provide guidance to the KVK, prepare 5 year plan of the Kendra, review progress, approve annual accounts and approve recruitments.
  • The KVK will be provided with a training organizer , about a dozen scientific/technical staff and an equal number of office and supporting staff . The disciplines of Agriculture Extension, Agronomy, Horticulture, Veterinary/Animal Sciences, Home Science and Plant Protection will be the part of KVK.
  • FUNDING – KVK is a 100 % financially assisted project from Government of India.