Department of Soil Science & Agricultural Chemistry

About the Department

The Department of Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry is one of the oldest teaching and research departments established in the Agricultural College and Research Institute, Coimbatore in 1907 to undertake research and teaching programme in the erstwhile Madras Presidency.

The earlier research works centred around soil resource investigations in command areas, manures, plant chemistry, bacteriology and animal nutrition. Soil testing, fertilizer testing, pesticide testing and pesticide residue laboratories, soil survey and land use organization, animal nutrition and soil microbiology were the important divisions functioned in this Department. Since the inception of Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU) during 1972, the Department is entrusted with the responsibility of undertaking teaching, research and extension in various branches of Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry in Tamil Nadu and also for coordinating the research programmes in other campuses and research stations.

Currently the Department has been functioning with seven units viz.,  Soil Test Crop Response (STCR) unit, Micro and Secondary Nutrients (MNS) unit, Long Term Fertilizer Experiments (LTFE) unit and 15N Laboratory, Soil Physics unit and Tamil Nadu Soil Reference Centre, Radio Isotopes (RIL) unit, Under Graduate (UG) Teaching unit and Post Graduate (M.Sc. (Ag) &PhD) Teaching and Research unit