About College

Genesis and Development of HC&RI

The Faculty of Horticulture was established during the year 1971 with the formation of Tamil Nadu Agricultural University. The PG and Doctoral Programmes were also introduced during the year of inception. The undergraduate programme B.Sc. (Horticulture) was started during the year 1972 and later in 1990, the Programme was shifted to the Horticultural College and Research Institute, Periyakulam. At the time of formation of the University during 1971, the Departments of Fruit Crops, Flower Crops and Spices and Plantation Crops were established. Later, the Department of Vegetable Crops and Department of Medicinal and Aromatic Crops were started during the year 1979 and 2010 respectively.  Earlier, a common PG and Ph.D. programme was offered and later four separate PG and Ph.D. programmes are being offered from each department.

After the formation of various Departments at HC & RI, TNAU, Coimbatore, intensive education, research and extension activities are pursued to promote the various branches including fruits, vegetables, spices, plantation crops, floriculture, landscaping, medicinal and aromatic crops with respect to crop improvement, production and post harvest management. Outcome of the research conducted at HC & RI, Coimbatore, resulted in the release of 12 fruit crop varieties, 59 vegetable crop varieties, nine spices and plantation crop varieties, nine flower crop varieties, one medicinal crop variety and improved production technologies for various crops. Besides the Faculty of Horticulture at Coimbatore, the Dean (Horticulture) of HC & RI, Coimbatore is entitled to direct administrative control over the Horticultural Research Stations at Ooty, Yercaud, Palur and Coconut Research Station at Aliyar, Veppankulam, Agricultural Research Station, Pattukkottai and technical control of the Regional Research Station at Paiyur, Agricultural Research Station at Bhavanisagar and Tuber Crop Research Station at Yethapur.

The Horticultural College and Research Institute at Coimbatore is situated within the premises of Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore. It is geographically situated in the tropical plain topography at 11° N Latitude, 77° E Longitude and at an altitude of 411 metres above Mean Sea Level (MSL). The Institute’s mandates are Education, Research and Extension. With respect to education, courses on crop improvement, crop production and post harvest management pertaining to fruits, vegetables, spices, plantations, floriculture and landscape gardening, medicinal and aromatic crops are taught in a comprehensive manner for various Post Graduate and Doctoral students. Research on crop improvement and crop management of the above crops is carried out with the objective of improving yield and quality, by way of releasing improved varieties and new technologies. In order to achieve the objective of ‘lab to land’ dissemination, extension tools such as Farmers’ mela and Exhibitions, Trainings, Seminars, Media (AIR and Paper), Farm Advisory Services etc., are being effectively used. Besides these tools, efficient dissemination of the released varieties and new technologies is achieved through regular updating of the TNAU website which enables reaching out to a wider group of stakeholders including the general public.


  • To educate the students in their chosen field of specialization with respect to crop improvement, crop management and post harvest management in horticultural crops.
  • To conduct  contemporary research in crop improvement, crop management and post harvest management of horticultural crops to enhance income, promote food and nutritional security with multidisciplinary team approach to ensure sustainable livelihood of farmers.
  • To develop confidence among the students in the field of specialization of their choice.


  • Pioneering to generate quality human resource required for public and private sectors pertaining to horticulture and to emerge as a reputed institute in the country.
  • Regular updating of syllabus to make it dynamic, problem solving and creative in line with the changing scenario of resources.
  • To make the institute a model for education and research in horticultural science


  • Tailoring the horticultural science curriculum keeping in mind the interests and needs of national and global players.
  • Improving the horticultural science curriculum in line with the views of national and global leaders.
  • To explore the latest knowledge in the applied areas of horticultural research, viz., crop improvement, propagation, protected cultivation, precision farming, quality planting material production and post harvest management.
  • Conceptualization of the requirements of farmers, industrial and public stakeholders in formation of horticultural curriculum, tapping the rich resources network across the country and globe.


  • 1848 – Establishment of botanic garden at Ooty.
  • 1871 – Establishment of Horticultural Farm at Burliar.
  • 1874 – Establishment of Sims Park at Coonoor.
  • 1900 – Establishment of Horticultural Farm at Kallar.
  • 1901 – Establishment of Agricultural Research Station at Nanjanad.
  • 1920 – Establishment of Pomological Station at Conoor.
  • 1925 – Establishment of Botanic Garden at Coimbatore.
  • 1935 – Establishment of Fruit Research Station at Kodur.
  • 1942 – Establishment of a Separate Fruit Section at Coimbatore headed by a Fruit Specialist.
  • 1948 – Starting of post-graduate diploma course in horticulture at Madras.
  • 1949 – Establishment of Central Banana Research Station at Aduthurai.
  • 1950 – Establishment of Horticulture Section at Coimbatore.
  • 1953 – Diploma in horticulture affiliated to Madras University (terminated in 1957-2000 persons trained).
  • 1955 – Transfer of Parks and Gardens of Nilgiris to Horticulture section.
  • 1957 – Establishment of Fruit Research Station at Periyakulam.
  • 1958 – Starting of Regional Post-Graduate Training Centre leading to M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Horticulture.
  • 1960 – Establishment of Fruit Research Station at Kanyakumari
  • 1961 – Apple Research Station at Kodaikanal.
  • 1961 – Establishment of Cashew Research Station at Vridhachalam.
  • 1962 – Transfer of Bryant Park from Kodaikanal Township.
  • 1964 – Establishment of Division of Vegetable Crops.
  • 1967 – Establishment of Floriculture Section at Coimbatore.
  • 1970 – Establishment of Banana Research Station, Vrinchipuram.
  • 1972 – Starting of B.Sc. (Hort) with an admission strength of 20 students.
  • 1972 – Transfer of TNAU Botanic Garden to Horticulture.
  • 1972 – Transfer of TNAU Estate Planting to Horticulture.
  • 1976 – Establishment of Horticultural Research Station at Yercaud.
  • 1979 – Department of Horticulture upgraded as faculty of Horticulture.
  • 1986 – Establishment of Horticultural Research Station, Ooty.
  • 1987 – Establishment of Vegetable Research Station, Palur.
  • 1989 – Upgradation of Hortl. Research Station, Periyakulam as HC&RI headed by separate Dean (Hort.).
  • 1989 – Establishment of Horticultural Research Station at Pechiparai.
  • 1989 – Shifting of B.Sc. (Hort.) programme to HC & RI, Periyakulam.
  • 1999 – Establishment of Tapioca and Castor Research Stationat at Yethapur
  • 2002 – Starting of B.Tech. (Hort) with an admission strength of 20 students which is now increased to 30.
  • 2008 – Establishment of Floriculture Research Station,Thovalai
  • 2011 – Starting of B.Sc (Hort.) Programme, HC&RI(W), Trichy
  • 2012 – Establishment of Grapes Research Station, Annaimalayanpatti, Theni
  • 2013 – Diploma in Horticulture, Pechiparai
  • 2014 – Establishment of Citrus Research Station, Sankarankovil.
  • 2018 – Starting of B.Sc (Hons.) Horticulture Programme, at HC&RI, TNAU, Coimbatore