About Directorate of research

The Directorate of Research was established in June 1971 to coordinate all research activities in TNAU and to administer / monitor the activities of Research Stations situated in different parts of Tamil Nadu.  The Directorate is headed by the Director of Research who is supported by scientists from various faculties in carrying out the activities of the Directorate.  Director of Research is the Nodal Officer for implementing the schemes funded by ICAR and other external agencies including NATP.  The procedure for monitoring the University research subprojects in an effective manner through the centralized system was dispensed from 2003 and decentralized monitoring system by the respective Technical University Officers for effective implementation is presently in operation.


Our mission is Agricultural Development through quality and need based research for ensuring food security, commercialization of agriculture and to improve standard of living of farming community

Research Stations

The State of Tamil Nadu has been divided into seven agro-climatic zones to facilitate the university to carry out location specific research. The organizational set up for research consists of one Lead Centre supported by other research stations for each agro-climatic zone viz., Cauvery Delta Zone, North-Eastern Zone, North-Western Zone, Western Zone, Southern Zone, High Rainfall Zone and Hilly & Tribal Zone. The goal of the university is to serve the state’s farming community to uplift their economic conditions mainly by evolving varieties / hybrids and management practices. With the above aim, TNAU undertakes need based research besides venturing into futuristic research by foreseeing the requirements of the State.  TNAU is also keen in adapting technologies from other institutes by fine tuning the same to suit the needs of the State.

Quick Links