The Department of Soil and Water Conservation Engineering was established in 1972, as one of the constituent departments of the College of Agricultural Engineering and Research Institute to offer soil and water engineering courses for an undergraduate degree programme in Agricultural Engineering.

The Department has a well-qualified faculty of reputed scientists and professors from its inception. The professional excellence of the faculty in teaching, research and extension enabled the Department to grow fast and this resulted in the offering of postgraduate programmes in 1977, within five years of its establishment.  The major activities of the department include mainly Education, Research and Extension or Transfer of technology in field of Agricultural Engineering with major thrust on the discipline of Soil and Water Conservation Engineering. The Department focusses on imparting quality education, innovative research and extension activities in the field of Soil and Water Conservation Engineering


The department is handling 38 undergraduate courses for B. Tech. (Agrl. Engg.), B.Tech. (Energy and Environmental Engineering), B.Tech. (Food Technology), B.Sc. (Horticulture), B.Sc(Agriculture), B.Sc. (Agri Business Management) degree programme.  The Department is offering eight courses for M. Tech. (SWCE) and six courses for Ph.D (SWCE).